Welcome to the Anthropics Knowledge Base
PortraitPro Plug-ins
In order to set the path after upgrading PortraitPro or Photoshop you need to launch the program in standalone mode once. After that you can close PortraitPro, and the next time you launch Photoshop the PortraitPro filter will work correctly.
If an Adobe Creative Cloud update moves the Plug-ins folder, simply re-run the full installer for PortraitPro Studio or Studio Max and your plug-in will be restored. If you don't have the installer, please get it from our license manager page.
This is done in the menu of PortraitPro Studio or PortraitPro Studio Max. On Windows choose the Settings option in the File menu. Press the button "Run Plug-in Installer".
PortraitPro will detect what version of Photoshop you have installed, and automatically find the Plug-ins folder for you. However, if the correct place is not detected you can manually browse to the Plug-ins folder of the Photoshop you want to use. Please make sure to check that the installation folder that PortraitPro gives you is correct for the version of Photoshop that you want to use.
When launching Photoshop, make sure that you launch the correct Photoshop for the plug-in. If you launch a different Photoshop, that will not have the plug-in installed, and PortraitPro won't show up in the menu.
Photoshop needs to be restarted before it will use a new plug-in. When the plug-in is installed, you can see it in Photoshop by selecting the Filter menu option. Look down the list of filters and at the end will be an entry "Anthropics". Choose this and you will see it expand to show the PortraitPro plug-in.
PortraitPro will detect what version of Photoshop you have installed, and automatically find the Plug-ins folder for you. However, if the correct place is not detected you can manually browse to the Plug-ins folder of the Photoshop you want to use. Please make sure to check that the installation folder that PortraitPro gives you is correct for the version of Photoshop that you want to use.
When launching Photoshop, make sure that you launch the correct Photoshop for the plug-in. If you launch a different Photoshop, that will not have the plug-in installed, and PortraitPro won't show up in the menu.
Photoshop needs to be restarted before it will use a new plug-in. When the plug-in is installed, you can see it in Photoshop by selecting the Filter menu option. Look down the list of filters and at the end will be an entry "Anthropics". Choose this and you will see it expand to show the PortraitPro plug-in.
This is done in the menu of PortraitPro Studio or PortraitPro Studio Max. Choose the Preferences option.
Then go to the Plugin tab. Press the button "Run Plug-in Installer".
PortraitPro will detect what version of Photoshop you have installed, and automatically find the Plug-ins folder for you. However, if the correct place is not detected you can manually browse to the Plug-ins folder of the Photoshop you want to use. Please make sure to check that the installation folder that PortraitPro gives you is correct for the version of Photoshop that you want to use.
When launching Photoshop, make sure that you launch the Photoshop where you have installed the plug-in. If you launch a different Photoshop, that will not have the plug-in installed, and PortraitPro won't show up in the menu.
Photoshop needs to be restarted before it will use a new plug-in. When the plug-in is installed, you can see it in Photoshop by selecting the Filter menu option. Look down the list of filters and at the end will be an entry "Anthropics". Choose this and you will see it expand to show the PortraitPro plug-in.
Then go to the Plugin tab. Press the button "Run Plug-in Installer".
PortraitPro will detect what version of Photoshop you have installed, and automatically find the Plug-ins folder for you. However, if the correct place is not detected you can manually browse to the Plug-ins folder of the Photoshop you want to use. Please make sure to check that the installation folder that PortraitPro gives you is correct for the version of Photoshop that you want to use.
When launching Photoshop, make sure that you launch the Photoshop where you have installed the plug-in. If you launch a different Photoshop, that will not have the plug-in installed, and PortraitPro won't show up in the menu.
Photoshop needs to be restarted before it will use a new plug-in. When the plug-in is installed, you can see it in Photoshop by selecting the Filter menu option. Look down the list of filters and at the end will be an entry "Anthropics". Choose this and you will see it expand to show the PortraitPro plug-in.
For Windows please use the Photoshop plug-in installer and this should install the plug-in correctly. If you still have any problems then please read on for the manual copying instructions.
The Windows plug-in is called PortraitProPSFilter64.8bf and you can find it in the Photoshop Filter Plugin folder inside the PortraitPro installation folder in your Program Files folder.
Copy this file (PortraitProPSFilter64.8bf) to the Plug-ins folder inside your Photoshop installation folder.
The Mac plug-in file is called PortraitProPSFilter.plugin.
You can find it by going to
To install it into Photoshop, copy the plug-in bundle to the Plug-ins folder inside your Photoshop folder in Applications.
The Windows plug-in is called PortraitProPSFilter64.8bf and you can find it in the Photoshop Filter Plugin folder inside the PortraitPro installation folder in your Program Files folder.
Copy this file (PortraitProPSFilter64.8bf) to the Plug-ins folder inside your Photoshop installation folder.
The Mac plug-in file is called PortraitProPSFilter.plugin.
You can find it by going to
/Applications/PortraitProStudio or /Applications/PortraitProStudioMax right-clicking and selecting "Show Package Contents". In the new window that appears, go to Contents/MacOS, and you will find the plug-in bundle there.To install it into Photoshop, copy the plug-in bundle to the Plug-ins folder inside your Photoshop folder in Applications.
To set up PortraitPro as an external editor for Lightroom, please follow these steps:
- Open Lightroom and in the menu go to Edit->Preferences...
- In the "Additional External Editor" section, press the "Choose" button on the right for choosing the application. A new dialog will pop up asking for the location of the program to run.
Select PortraitPro Studio, PortraitPro Studio Max or PortraitPro Studio Trial in your Program Files folder. Then press "Choose" to dismiss the dialog. - For the "File Format" please select TIFF. The other settings can be chosen as you wish (for example: "Color Space": sRGB, "Bit Depth":8 bits/component, "Resolution":240, "Compression": LZW ).
- Press the "OK" button to dismiss the Preferences dialog.
- Open PortraitPro Studio, choose File and Settings, and make sure "Auto-Plugin Mode" is selected.
- PortraitPro Studio is now set up as an external editor for your images. You can now select a picture in your library, right click and choose "Edit In" and then "Edit in PortraitProStudio".
To set up PortraitPro as an external editor for Lightroom, please follow these steps:
- Open Lightroom and in the menu go to Lightroom->Preferences...
- In the "Additional External Editor" section, press the "Choose" button on the right for choosing the application. A new dialog will pop up asking for the location of the program to run.
PortraitPro Studio is usually located at/Applications/PortraitProStudio.
PortraitPro Studio Trial is usually located at/Applications/PortraitProStudioTrial.
PortraitPro Studio Max is usually located at/Applications/PortraitProStudioMax.
Try pasting in these paths if you are not sure. Then press "Choose" to dismiss the dialog. - For the "File Format" please select TIFF. The other settings can be chosen as you wish (for example: "Color Space": sRGB, "Bit Depth":8 bits/component, "Resolution":240, "Compression": LZW ).
- Close the Preferences dialog.
- Open PortraitPro Studio, choose Preferences, and make sure "Auto-Plugin Mode" is selected.
- PortraitPro Studio is now set up as an external editor for your images. You can now select a picture in your library, right-click or ctrl-click and choose "Edit In" and then "Edit in PortraitProStudio".
- Photoshop
- Photoshop Elements
- Lightroom Classic (as an external editor)
Windows
Follow the instructions in Affinity to browse to a folder that contains plug-in files.
PortraitPro usually installs them in the Photoshop Filter Plugin folder inside its installation folder in your Program Files folder.
Restart Affinity and PortraitPro should be available in the Filter menu.
Mac
Follow the instructions in Affinity to browse to a folder that contains plug-in files.
PortraitPro usually installs them in the Photoshop Filter Plugin folder inside its installation folder in your Program Files folder.
Restart Affinity and PortraitPro should be available in the Filter menu.
Mac
- Create a folder called ‘AffinityPlugins’ in a location where you can easily find it, e.g. the Desktop
- Run the PortraitPro plug-in installer (from the Preferences>Plugin tab)
- At the ‘Photoshop Plugin’ step, click ‘Choose Install Path Manually’
- Browse to the AffinityPlugins folder, select it and click ‘Open’
- Continue the rest of the steps in the plug-in installer
- Launch Affinity and browse to the AffinityPlugins folder to add the plug-ins there
- Restart Affinity and PortraitPro should be available in the Filter menu.